Google Drive’s retention policies are changing and any files in the Trash will now automatically be …

Google
Drive
has
been
providing
a
great
online
file
storage
solution
for
a
long
time
now,
but
the
file
deletion
process
has
been
kept
manual
all
this
while.
However,
Google
Drive
is
changing
its
policies.
Starting
from

13th
October
2020,
files
in
the
Trash
in
Google
Drive
will
get
automatically
deleted
after
they
are
kept
for
a
period
longer
than
30
days.

This
means
that
the
items
that
are
present
in
the
Trash
folder
of
Google
Drive
on
13th
October
will
stay
there
for
another
30
days,
and
then,
Google
Drive
will
automatically
delete
them.

Previously,
all
this
trash
was
retained
for
an
indefinite
period,
or
until
the
user
would
decide
to
delete
the
files
in
Trash
themselves.
Sometimes,
while
reviewing
those
Trashed
items,
users
would
save
some
files
too,
but
regardless
of
what
the
user
did
with
those
items,
their
fate
depended
on
the
user’s
whim
and
will.
Now,
the
user
will
be
on
a
tight
rope
of
a
30
days
period.
If
they
want
to
review
their
trashed
items,
they
must
do
it
within
those
30
days,
otherwise,
they
have
to
be
prepared
to
see
an
empty
trash
folder
after
30
days
are
over.

This
is
a
fair
policy,
and
it
gives
a
user
an
ample
amount
of
time
to
decide
what
they
want
to
do
with
the
items
they
believe
are
useless.
It
also
suits
different
storage
plans
and
packages
that
the
user
chooses.
So,
all
in
all,
this
is
an
efficient
way
to
take
care
of
Trash
in
Google
Drive
and
it
will
ensure
consistent
and
predictable
behavior
for
users
across
all
G
Site
products
too.

Google
Drive
has
started
sending
in-app
notifications
about
this
new
update
to
all
users.
From
29th
September,
a
message
will
start
floating
about
this
change
in
Docs,
Sheets,
Slides,
and
other
G
Suite
products
too.

For
enterprise
customers,
some
considerations
are
slightly
different
from
individual
customers.

In
an
enterprise,
admins
will
have
the
ability
to
restore
items
that
have
been
deleted
from
a
user’s
trash
for
up
to
25
days
for
active
users.

Secondly,
retention
policies
set
by
admins
in
Google
Vault
remain
unaffected
by
this
new
update,
unless
they
become
obsolete.

An
important
point
to
note
is
that
these
changes
will
affect
all
the
items
that
are
trashed
from
any
platform,
any
device.

Files
that
are
deleted
through
Drive
File
Stream
will
be
removed
from
the
system
after
30
days.
But
there
will
be
no
impact
on
Backup
and
Sync
functionality.

Files
in
the
Trash
of
shared
drives
will
also
be
automatically
deleted
after
30
days,
and
the
most
important
thing
to
remember
is
that
items
and
files
in
your
Trash
keep
consuming
your
quota.
So,
you
have
to
keep
an
eye
on
your
files
in
the
Trash
folder
of
Google
Drive
always.


Photo:
Thomas
Trutschel/Photothek
via
Getty
Images

Read
next:

Changes
to
Google
Play
Games
UI
Might
Mean
a
Much
Better
User
Experience

Latest posts